CAGAYAN DE ORO TRAVEL INFORMATION
CAPITAL: CAGAYAN DE ORO
Misamis Oriental used to be a part of Cebu. In 1818, it became a "conregimento" comprised of 4 "partidos" or divisions; namely, Partido de MIsamis, Partido de Dapitan, Partido de Cagayan and Partido de Catarman.
During the latter part of the 19th century, Misamis was one of the 6 districts of Mindanao, and later, one of the seven districts in Mindanao and Sulu at the close of the Spanish era with Cagayan de Misamis, now Cagayan de Oro, as its capital. When it was still a part of the district of Cebu, there were 12 Spaniards and 9 Filipinos who successively served as "governadore" with Mayor Carabello as the first governor in 1874.
Legislative Act. No. 3537, approved in November 2, 1929, divided the province of Misamis into two provinces due to the lack of geographical contiguity: Misamis Oriental and Misamis Occidental. However, it was not until 10 years later that the division was implemented by an amendment, Act. No. 3777, adopted on November 28,1939. When Misamis Oriental became a separate province, Don Gregorio Pelaez was its first Governor. Since then, there were 14 past governors who were elected and appointed by operation of law.
The earliest known settlers of the territory were the Negritoes. Centuries later, Malay colonists with Mongoloid features, fought the natives for the control of the rich Cagayan River coastal plains. The struggle for possession has finally won the native Visayans over the Bukidnons. In the 1500´s most of the Mindanao area had fallen under the Muslim and the inhabitants were converted into Islam. As part of Mindanao, the people of the territory were obliged to pay tribute to the Muslim rule
Vicente De Lara Park situated in front of the Provincial Capitol of Misamis Oriental with age-old mahogany trees that provides a therapeutic canopy for the promenades.
La Castilla: Museum of Philippine household heirlooms and antiques. This is the Rodolfo and Elsa Pelaez family memorabilia. Administered by the Liceo de Cagayan University.
The Cathedral: The home of the Archdiocese of Cagayan de Oro City, this place of worship is also famous for its century old stained glass windows
Gaston Park: Named after the first Mayor of Cagayan de Oro, Segundo Gaston; located near the Saint Augustine Cathedral and Archbishops Palace. This park was the center of town when Pueblo de Cagayan was first erected in 1624. This plaza served as the training ground for the local revolutionaries who were preparing for the Phil-American War in 1900.
Museo De Oro & Xavier University- Located at Corrales Avenue; exhibits repertoire of Bukidnon and Maranao Cultures that have survived the ravages of time.
Golden Friendship Park Catanico Falls
located about 10 kilometers away from the city. The falls drop into a swimming pool where bathers could dive from where the water descends; concealed by huge boulders and covered with fern and moss.
Located in the southeastern portion of the city is the San Jose Seminary, the training center for aspiring priest; also the site of the Carmelite Nunnery where it houses the Miraculous Infant Jesus.
Pelaez Sports Center
Along A. Velez St., offers sports facilities, including an Olympic-size swimming pool; site of the first Palarong Pambansa outside Metro Manila in 1975.
Located at Barangay Bulua; handcrafted home and office decors, household wares and giftables are available.
Situated some 7.0 kilometers from sitio Palalan, brgy. of Tablon. It
is surrounded by boulders and stones dubbed by the city as Oro stone
similar in characteristics with the Mangima Stone. It has 3 steps of
falls at approximately 50 meters apart with the upper portion, ( the
source ) , as the biggest of the three.
Located at Barangay Mambuaya this city; the cave entrance is flowing water from underground stream. The cave has a small opening that seems too narrow to be passable, it has a six (6) inches airspace between ceiling and water that you have to submerge yourselves one by one, equipped with a helmet and a waterproof cap lamp. The cave contains a beautiful sparkling formations which is called the CALCIUM CARBONATE (CaCO3) or CALCITES. These stalactites and stalagmites, white and brown, are sign of oxidized materials that take 50-60 years to form an inch. The cave is definitely spellbinding. There were formations of flowstones, gurpool-resembling rice terraces, transparent crystals and picturesque speleothems, such as cathedral drapes and icons. Everything was simply beautiful and awesome.
On the south end of the city, about eight kilometers south is Huluga Cave. Composed of two main caverns, it is situated on the eastern side of Cagayan River, along the brow of a vertical limestone cliff. The skeletal fragment from these caves were found to belong to a child and a woman who inhabited Cagayan 1,600 years B.C. This was based on the acid racemization done by Scripps Institute in La Jolla, California.
Philippine General Informations - Philippine History - Philippine Government - Philippine Economy
Philippine Infrastructure - Philippine Sports & Recreations - Philippine Travel Tips
Getting Around to the Philippines - Philippine Map
People of the Philippines - Culture and Arts - Philippine Religion - Philippine Churches
Philippine Food & Cuisine - Philippine Festivals and Events - Philippine Beaches
Philippine Dive - Philippine Wildlife - Philippine Heritage Sites - Philippine Golf - Philippine Popular Activities